Psalm 11 “How say ye to my soul, Flee as a bird to your mountain?”

(Our study with Psalm 11 is available here)

In this Psalm 11 study we look at how God is the one directing all our trials, as He drags us to the mountain who is Christ from whence comes our help (Joh 6:44 , Psa 121:1).

Joh 6:44  No man can come to me, except the Father which hath sent me draw him: and I will raise him up at the last day.

Psa 121:1  A Song of degrees. I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.

The most counter-intuitive point of our sojourn in the Lord is that we must learn by the grace and faith given to us as a gift of God (Eph 2:8) that Christ is our refuge and at the same time our judge, whose judgements must be in our earth if we are going to learn of His righteousness (Isa 26:9).

Eph 2:8  For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God:

Isa 26:9  With my soul have I desired thee in the night; yea, with my spirit within me will I seek thee early: for when thy judgments are in the earth, the inhabitants of the world will learn righteousness.

We must needs therefore labour to enter into His rest, to be able to flee to that mountain as a bird (Heb 4:11), as we fill up what is behind of His afflictions and become more comfortable in the fiery experience of bearing our cross, which brings us unto maturity in our Lord (Col 1:27 , Gal 2:20 , Mat 16:24).

Heb 4:11  Let us labour therefore to enter into that rest, lest any man fall after the same example of unbelief.

Gal 2:20  I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

Mat 16:24  Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.

The cross and the mountain are analogous of Christ, and God gives us the power through Christ to endure all things so we can be built upon that rock or mountain (Php 4:13 , Psa 127:1). We are called to bear each other’s burden which is the fruit of Christ’s life in us (Gal 6:2) that is growing as we mature in our ability to bear that fruit (Mat 16:18 , Joh 15:2). This exercise of being a living sacrifice unto God is how He says to our souls “flee as a bird to your mountain”

Php 4:13  I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

Psa 127:1  A Song of degrees for Solomon. Except the LORD build the house, they labour in vain that build it: except the LORD keep the city, the watchman waketh but in vain.

Gal 6:2  Bear ye one another’s burdens, and so fulfil the law of Christ.

Mat 16:18 And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.

Joh 15:2  Every branch in me that beareth not fruit he taketh away: and every branch that beareth fruit, he purgeth it, that it may bring forth more fruit.

(Our study with Psalm 11 is available here)

Gallery | This entry was posted in Articles and Studies, Book of Psalms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for your comments!

